Mother’s Day Song

1.My mom said
Eat your vegetables (and)
Get a good night’s sleep
Don’t forget to say your prayers
Close your eyes and count some sheep (but)

Momma never told me
How to achieve perfection
And now I guess I understand
That it was something she didn’t know (So I)

Ate my vegetables (and)
Said my goodnight prayers
But lay awake in my bed
Too concerned with all my cares (like)

Pre-Chorus:What would I be when I grow up (and)
Who would I marry
Would my kids eat their vegetables
Or believe the things that I believe in?

Chorus:Woke up (the) next morning
Never knowing I’d been fast asleep
But knowing God was there for me
Prayed the Lord my soul to keep.

2.My mom said
Do your homework now (and)
That’s enough TV
Are you ready for the Science Fair?
Did you study for the Spelling Bee?

It got so aggravating
Seemed like she was so caught up
There’s so much more to life at school
Than science fairs and empty cups, (but)

I turned off the television
Cracked a book or two or three
I tried my best to do my best
I wanted her to be proud of me
Pre-Chorus:What would I be when I grow up
Who would I marry
Would my kids study hard at school
Be the best that they could be (and)

Chorus:Woke up the next morning
Never knowing I’d been fast asleep
But knowing God was there for me
Prayed the Lord my soul to keep.

3.My mom said
Don’t you fall too hard when
That first boy looks at you
You must be kind to everyone (but)
Don’t let them walk all over you

Then came the most disgusting part
She wanted to kiss me goodbye
At school in front of all my friends
I couldn’t hide — or disappear — or die

So I let her kiss me then (and)
She waved as she drove away
I’m glad I know she cares for me
Even though I’ll never say it.

Pre-Chorus: What would I be when I grow up
Who would I marry
Will I embarrass my own kids
The way my Mom embarrassed me?

Chorus:And then I wasn’t sleeping
With eyes wide open I could see
That God in true all-knowing love
Had thought to give my mom to me.

4.And now that I’m a mom myself
I’m glad she doesn’t laugh at me
When my kid hides his vegetables
Dodges responsibility

My soul could use some chicken soup
My son’s hug could fill the bowl
Though I might like to keep him small
Growing up is his main goal (so)

Chorus:I wake up each morning
Never knowing when I fell asleep
But with my son, God, and mother’s love
I pray the Lord my soul to keep.

Leave a Reply

